Christine Albano

Christine Albano

Assistant Specialist, John Muir Institute of the Environment

Research Associate, Southwest Climate Science Center

Christine is an ecologist and conservation biologist. She studies climate change, landscape conservation planning and design, and effects of extreme climatic events on southwestern ecosystems with an emphasis on integrating research results into natural resource management.

Phone: 775-881-7560 ext. 7473

Email:calbano@ucdavis.edu

Brant Allen

Brant Allen

Field Lab Director and Boat Captain

Lake Monitoring and Aquatic Ecology

Brant Allen has been conducting and assisting with ecological research at Lake Tahoe for the past 25 years. His focus has been on the effects of introduced and invasive species. Brant spends most of his time aboard one of the research vessels or diving in the lake to monitor water quality, collect samples, or assist visiting researchers with their specific needs.

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7472, (530) 604-6551

Email: bcallen@ucdavis.edu

Patty Arneson

Patty Arneson

Staff Research Associate

Database Management and Analysis

Email: parneson@ucdavis.edu

Veronica Edirveerasingam-Alumbaugh

Veronica Edirveerasingam

Staff Research Associate

Veronica performs nutrient analysis (includes Phosphorous, Nitrates and Ammonium) and particle size analysis on water samples from streams and storm water around the Tahoe Basin and also from Lake Tahoe at different depths. She maintains daily record of lab temperature and sample storage temperatures, and waste disposal.  Adhering to holding time of the samples and follow standard operating procedures for each analysis.

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7471

Email: vedirveerasingam@ucdavis.edu

Emily Frey

Emily Frey

Education Program Assistant and SNAP AmeriCorps Member

Field trip coordinator, special events coordinator, aquarium and exhibit upkeep

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7474

Email: efrey@ucdavis.edu

Charles Goldman

Charles R. Goldman, Ph.D

Distinguished Professor of Limnology

Director, Tahoe Research Group

Phone: (530) 752-1557

Email: crgoldman@ucdavis.edu

Scott Hackley

Scott Hackley

Staff Research Associate

Periphyton Monitoring, Stream Monitoring, Atmospheric Deposition

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7466

Email: shhackley@ucdavis.edu

Tina Hammell

Tina Hammell

Staff Research Associate

Lab Manager, Chemical Analysis

Phone (530) 752-2913

Email: tlhammell@ucdavis.edu

Debbie Hunter

Debbie Hunter

Staff Research Associate

Phytoplanton Taxonomy

Email: dahunter@ucdavis.edu

zach hymanson

Zach Hymanson

Associate Director

Research Interests:
• Understanding and improving the interactions between policy and science.
• Development of decision support and management systems to improve environmental and ecosystem management.
• Assessing how human-induced disturbances affect living resources and their habitats.
• Monitoring and assessment of aquatic habitat restoration efforts and environmental water quality.

Phone: (775) 881-7569

Email: zhymanson@ucdavis.edu

Camille Jensen

Camille Jensen

Research Associate

Forest Pathogens, Insects, Restoration and Monitoring

Phone: (530) 400-3037

Email: jensencamille@gmail.com

Bree Lewis

Bree Lewis

Education Program Assistant and SNAP AmeriCorps Member

Marketing coordinator, Eriksson Education Center coordinator, and database management and recording

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7483

Email: blewis@ucdavis.edu

Anne Liston

Anne Liston

Staff Research Associate

Lab Manager, Chemical Analysis

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7472

Email: amliston@ucdavis.edu

Patricia Maloney

Patricia Maloney

Project Scientist, Department of Plant Pathology

Forest Ecologist and Conservation Biologist

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7467

Email: pemaloney@ucdavis.edu

George Malyj

George Malyj

Program Manager

Astronomy, Enology, Bureaucracy

Phone: (530) 574-6342

Email: gjmalyj@ucdavis.edu

Evan Portier

Evan Portier

Education Program Assistant and SNAP AmeriCorps Member

YSI coordinator, assistant volunteer docent coordinator, writing and editing assignments

Phone: (775) 881 -7560 ext. 7474

Email: efportier@ucdavis.edu

John Reuter

John Reuter

Former Associate Director, Tahoe Environmental Research Center

Director, Lake Tahoe Interagency Monitoring Program

Ecology, Interactions of Science and Management, TMDL

Phone: (530) 304-1473

Email: jereuter@ucdavis.edu

Goloka Sahoo

Goloka Sahoo

Associate Project Scientist

Goloka's research interests include quantification of environmental processes in lakes, reservoirs, and rivers using multi-dimensional process-based hydrodynamic and ecological models (e.g., DLM-WQ and SI3D-WQ) and field and laboratory data. His hydrologic modeling incorporates process-based models (e.g. LSPC and MIKE SHE) and lumped models (e.g., artificial neural networks, genetic algorithms, and statistical models)

Phone (530) 752-1755

Email: gbsahoo@ucdavis.edu

Geoffrey Schladow

Geoff Schladow

Professor of Water Resources and Environmental Engineering

Director, Tahoe Environmental Research Center

Physical Limnology, Sensor Networks, Fluid Mechanics and Water Quality

Phone: (530) 752-3942

Email: gschladow@ucdavis.edu

http://edl.engr.ucdavis.edu/

Heather Segale

Heather Segale

Education and Outreach Director

Education Program Development, Exhibit Development, Program Evaluation, Outreach, Public Relations, Media Relations, Docent Program Manager

Phone (775) 881-7562

Email: hmsegale@ucdavis.edu

Raph Townsend

Raph Townsend

Staff Research Associate

Urban stormwater monitoring, Equipment installation/maintenance, Backup boat captain

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7469

Email: raph_townsend@yahoo.com

Alison Toy

Alison Toy

Program Coordinator and Docent Coordinator

Volunteer Docent Training, Environmental Sciences and Education, Green Thumb Workshops, Tahoe City Demonstration Garden, Lake Tahoe Master Gardener, Office Manager, TERC Administration, TERC Webmaster

Phone: (775) 881-7566

Email: antoy@ucdavis.edu

Shohei Watanabe

Shohei Watanabe

Postdoctoral Scholar - Hydrologic Optics and Database management/analysis

Research Interest: My primary interest is in hydrologic optics of inland waters (Blue Water Index, Visible clarity, Remote Sensing). I use measurements of spectral distribution of underwater light to explain mechanisms behind the change in water color and clarity of Lake Tahoe. I also try to apply optical data to ecosystem modeling and remote sensing of the aquatic environment.

Current Projects: Continuous hyperspectral radiometry of ultra-oligotrophic lake. Lake water blueness and clarity monitoring. Ecosystem metabolism estimate from continuous O2 measurements. CDOM dynamics monitoring.

Past Projects: Remote sensing of Lake Tahoe's nearshore area. Impact of Wildfire (Rim fire) on alpine lakes.

Email: swatanabe@ucdavis.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Katie Webb

Katie Webb

Staff Research Associate

Invasive Species

Phone (775) 881-7560 ext. 7468

Email: kjwebb@ucdavis.edu