brantallen

Brant Allen

Field Lab Director and Boat Captain

Lake Monitoring and Aquatic Ecology

Brant Allen has been conducting and assisting with ecological research at Lake Tahoe for the past 25 years. His focus has been on the effects of introduced and invasive species. Brant spends most of his time aboard one of the research vessels or diving in the lake to monitor water quality, collect samples, or assist visiting researchers with their specific needs.

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7472, (530) 604-6551

Email: bcallen@ucdavis.edu

Liz Bronson

Liz Bronson

Education Program Assistant and SNAP AmeriCorps Member
Marketing Coordinator, Special Event Coordinator, Writing and Editing

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7474

Email: lbronson@ucdavis.edu

Alex Forrest

Alex Forrest

Assistant Professor

Dr. Alex Forrest has over a decade of experience working with autonomous robotics as data collection platforms to address environmental issues. With a background in Civil and Environmental Engineering, his research examines the influence lakebed and seafloor features have on localized hydrodynamic flow and uses acoustic mapping techniques and environmental fluid mechanics to interpret the dynamics of a system. He will apply his expertise to issues affecting water quality and ecosystem health in Lake Tahoe and other Sierra lakes (e.g. sedimentation, invasive species, etc). The main focus of his teaching at UC Davis will be environmental fluid mechanics at the undergraduate and graduate level.

Phone: (530) 219-0946

Email: alforrest@ucdavis.edu

Charles Goldman

Charles R. Goldman, Ph.D

Distinguished Professor of Limnology

Director, Tahoe Research Group

Phone: (530) 752-1557

Email: goldmantahoe@yahoo.com

Scott Hackley

Scott Hackley

Staff Research Associate

Periphyton Monitoring, Stream Monitoring, Atmospheric Deposition

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7466

Email: shhackley@ucdavis.edu

Tina Hammell

Tina Hammell

Staff Research Associate

Lab Manager, Chemical Analysis

Phone (530) 752-2913

Email: tlhammell@ucdavis.edu

Bre Harris

Bre Harris

Education Program Assistant and SNAP AmeriCorps Member
School Group/Field Trip Coordinator, Tahoe City Eriksson Education Center Coordinator, Aquarium and Exhibit Upkeep

Phone: (775) 881-7560  ext. 7474

Email: breharris@ucdavis.edu

Camille Jensen

Camille Jensen

Research Associate

Forest Pathogens, Insects, Restoration and Monitoring

Phone: (530) 400-3037

Email: jensencamille@gmail.com

Anne Liston

Anne Liston

Staff Research Associate

Lab Manager, Chemical Analysis

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7472

Email: amliston@ucdavis.edu

Patricia Maloney

Patricia Maloney

Associate Director and Project Scientist, Department of Plant Pathology

Forest Ecologist and Conservation Biologist

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7569

Email: pemaloney@ucdavis.edu

George Malyj

George Malyj

Program Manager

Astronomy, theoretical enology, and bureaucracy

Phone: (530) 574-6342

Email: gjmalyj@ucdavis.edu

Christine Limon

Christine Limon

Education Program Assistant and SNAP AmeriCorps Member
Youth Science Institute Coordinator, Assistant Docent Coordinator, Data Management & Reporting

Phone: (775) 881 -7560 ext. 7483

Email: cjlimon@ucdavis.edu

John Reuter

John Reuter

Associate Director, Emeritus, Tahoe Environmental Research Center

Director, Lake Tahoe Interagency Monitoring Program

Ecology, Interactions of Science and Management, TMDL

Phone: (530) 304-1473

Email: jereuter@ucdavis.edu

Steve Sadro

Steve Sadro

Assistant Professor

Limnological research in the Sadro lab broadly seeks to understand how biological, physical, and chemical factors interact to regulate aquatic ecosystems. Ongoing research themes include ecosystem energetics (carbon and nutrient flows), terrestrial – aquatic linkages, long-term watershed studies, and landscape limnological analyses. We use observational, comparative, and experimental approaches to understand ecological processes in habitats ranging from coastal streams and estuaries to arctic and alpine lakes. Much of our research is conducted in the Sierra Nevada mountains, where steep landscape gradients provide a natural laboratory to test ecological questions. Our research seeks solutions to environmental problems and contributes to the conservation of aquatic ecosystems.

Email: ssadro@ucdavis.edu

Goloka Sahoo

Goloka Sahoo

Associate Project Scientist

Goloka's research interests include quantification of environmental processes in lakes, reservoirs, and rivers using multi-dimensional process-based hydrodynamic and ecological models (e.g., DLM-WQ and SI3D-WQ) and field and laboratory data. His hydrologic modeling incorporates process-based models (e.g. LSPC and MIKE SHE) and lumped models (e.g., artificial neural networks, genetic algorithms, and statistical models)

Phone (530) 752-1755

Email: gbsahoo@ucdavis.edu

Geoffrey Schladow

Geoff Schladow

Professor of Water Resources and Environmental Engineering

Director, Tahoe Environmental Research Center

Physical Limnology, Sensor Networks, Fluid Mechanics and Water Quality

Phone: (530) 752-3942

Email: gschladow@ucdavis.edu

http://edl.engr.ucdavis.edu/

Heather Segale

Heather Segale

Education and Outreach Director

Education Program Development, Exhibit Development, Program Evaluation, Outreach, Public Relations, Media Relations, Docent Program Manager

Phone (775) 881-7562

Email: hmsegale@ucdavis.edu

Katie Webb

Katie Senft

Staff Research Associate

Invasive Species

Phone (775) 881-7560 ext. 7468

Email: kjsenft@ucdavis.edu

Lidia Tanaka

Lidia Tanaka

Staff Research Associate

Phytoplanton Taxonomy

Email: lltanaka@ucdavis.edu

Raph Townsend

Raph Townsend

Staff Research Associate

Urban stormwater monitoring, Equipment installation/maintenance, Backup boat captain

Phone: (775) 881-7560 ext. 7469

Email: raph_townsend@yahoo.com

Alison Toy

Alison Toy

Program Manager and Docent Coordinator

Volunteer Docent Training, TCES Stakeholder facilitator, Environmental Sciences and Education, Native Plant Workshops, Tahoe City Demonstration Garden Manager, Lake Tahoe Master Gardener, Office Manager, TERC Administration, TERC Webmaster, and Tahoe Science Advisory Council Administrator

Phone: (775) 881-7566

Email: antoy@ucdavis.edu

Shohei Watanabe

Shohei Watanabe

Postdoctoral Scholar - Hydrologic Optics and Database management/analysis

Research Interest: My primary interest is in hydrologic optics of inland waters (Blue Water Index, Visible clarity, Remote Sensing). I use measurements of spectral distribution of underwater light to explain mechanisms behind the change in water color and clarity of Lake Tahoe. I also try to apply optical data to ecosystem modeling and remote sensing of the aquatic environment.

Current Projects: Continuous hyperspectral radiometry of ultra-oligotrophic lake. Lake water blueness and clarity monitoring. Ecosystem metabolism estimate from continuous O2 measurements. CDOM dynamics monitoring.

Past Projects: Remote sensing of Lake Tahoe's nearshore area. Impact of Wildfire (Rim fire) on alpine lakes.

Email: swatanabe@ucdavis.edu

Curriculum Vitae